Agility CMS documentationAgility CMS documentation
OverviewEditorsDevelopersOwners & AdminsTraining GuideApps
Sign inLet's Chat
Editors
Introduction to AgilityPages vs ContentPreviewing, Publishing, and Content StatesScheduling OverviewVersion History and CommentingContent SearchApprovals and WorkflowsLocalesSet your timezone and display languageBatch Content PublishingImporting and ExportingTask ManagementDeleting and Restoring ContentCopying and Duplicating ItemsRich Text EditorLive CollaborationPreviewing in Web StudioReal-Time Co-Authoring & Conflict HandlingLive Commenting & Collaboration in Web StudioYour account menuManage your notifications

Introduction

Deleting and Restoring Content

Deleting and Restoring Assets, Pages and Content

We’ve all accidentally deleted content before, this article covers what to do in case you or an Editor within your instance encounters any of the following scenarios: 

Assets

Delete a single Asset

1. Navigate to the Assets Section in your Agility Instance 

2. Find the asset, Hover it and click Delete

Delete Multiple Assets

1. Navigate to the Assets Section in your Agility Instance 

2. Select the Assets you’d like to Delete 

3. Click the Selection Drop-drown above the assets window 

4. Click Remove

Restore an Asset

1. Navigate to the Assets Section in your Agility Instance 

2. Click Recycle Bin in your left-hand navigation menu to open a pop-up modal containing your recently deleted assets

3. Select the Assets you’d like to Restore and click Restore Selected 

Permanently Delete an Asset

1. Navigate to the Assets Section in your Agility Instance 

2. Click Recycle Bin in your left-hand navigation menu to open a pop-up modal containing your recently deleted assets

3. Select the Assets you’d like to Permanently Delete and click Delete Selected 

Pages

Delete a Page

1. Navigate to the Pages Section in Agility 

2. Select the Page you’d like to Delete 

3. Click the Menu Indicator to the right of the Layout Title and click Delete Page

4. Type the Name of the Page in the confirmation window to Confirm you’d like to Delete the page and click Delete  

5. Click Are You Sure? To double-confirm you’d like the layout Deleted. 

Note

Pages themselves that get deleted are not able to be recovered from the Agility Manager. If a page has been deleted from your site and you wish to recover it, please contact support@agilitycms.com.

I've deleted a Page, but I can still see it in my Sitemap with a red “!” symbol

If you had deleted a Page, but are still seeing it in your Sitemap with a red symbol, it is because that Content is also initialized in another locale. The Page will need to be deleted in all of the locales it has been initialized in to be removed from the Sitemap.

Content

Delete Content

1. Navigate to the Content Section in Agility 

2. Select the Content List where the content is stored 

3. Select the Content Item(s) you’d like to delete 

4. Click the Selection Drop-down at the top of page and click Delete 

5. Confirm you’d like to Delete the content by clicking Delete again in the confirmation window 

Important Note

When deleting a Content Item that contains nested (child) content, Agility retains the nested content to make restoration as simple as possible. While these nested items will still count toward your total entries, you can reach out to your CSM to have them permanently removed.

Restore Content

1. Navigate to the Content Section in Agility 

2. Select the Content List where the content is stored 

3. Click the Filters button  

4. Click Show Deleted Content 

5. Select the Content Item(s) you’d like to restore 

6. Click the Selection Drop-down at the top of the page and click Restore 

7. Confirm you’d like to Restore the content by clicking Restore again in the confirmation window 

We have all accidentally deleted content before, this article will cover what to do in case you or a content editor within your instance encounter any of the following scenarios:

Assets

To delete an Asset, head into your Assets Manager, select the asset(s) you wish to delete, then click the Delete Icon.

Asset manager in Agility CMS Select an Image

To Permanently Delete a file from your Assets Manager, head to the Recycle Bin, select the asset(s), then click the Delete Icon.

Permanently deleting content in Agility CMS Select an Image

You will be prompted with a message to confirm:

Deleting files in Agility CMS Select an Image

If you've accidentally delete any files within your Assets folder, you can simply locate the item in the Recycling Bin.

Recycling bin in Agility CMS Select an Image

To restore, select an item within the list, then click the Restore icon.

Restoring content in Agility CMS Select an Image

Pages

To delete a Page or Page Modules, simple navigate to the desired Page or Page Module, then click on Delete. 

Deleting pages in Agility CMS Select an Image

NotePages themselves that get deleted are not able to be recovered from the Agility Manager. If a page has been deleted from your site and you wish to recover it, please contact support@agilitycms.com.

Due to this, Agility has introduced an added security function when deleting pages; the user must now type out the page name before being able to delete the desired page.

Delete page confirmation in Agility CMS Select an Image

I've deleted a Page, but I can still see it in my Sitemap with a red “!” symbolIf you had deleted a Page, but are still seeing it in your Sitemap with a red symbol, it is because that Content is also initialized in another locale. The Page will need to be deleted in all of the locales it has been initialized in to be removed from the Sitemap.

If a Page Module has been deleted within a Page, you can revert this deletion by using the History tab and selecting the last date you wish to restore the Page.

Revert deleted page in Agility CMS Select an Image

 By Clicking on the History tab, you are able to view and recover previously deleted Modules or Content. The item with the green checkmark identifies the currently published Version of the Page.

Once you have selected the Version Date you wish to revert to, click on Recover This Version.

Recover versions in Agility CMS Select an Image

Content

To delete an entire List of Content, or a Content Item, select your Content List or Item then click on the Delete Icon in the main Status Bar.

Delete list of content in Agility CMS Select an Image

You will be prompted with a message to confirm:

Confirmation of deleted content in Agility CMS Select an Image

To delete Multiple Items within a Content List, select the items then click on the Delete Icon above the list.

Selecting then deleting content in Agility CMS Select an Image

To recover Content deleted within a Content List, select your Content List and head into the Recycle Bin.

Within the Recycle Bin, you can select the Item you wish to recover, and click on the Recover Button.

I've deleted Content, but I can still see it in my list with a red “!” symbolIf you had deleted some Content, but are still seeing it in your list with a red symbol, it is because that Content is also initialized in another locale. The Content will need to be deleted in all of the locales it has been initialized in to be removed from the list.

Content in locales in Agility CMS Select an Image

Locales

To to issues that could happen within your Website or Application, deleting Locales cannot be done within the Content Manager.

If you would like to Delete your locale or need to have a language code changed, please contact support at support@agilitycms.com.

← Previous
Task Management
Next →
Copying and Duplicating Items
On this page
AssetsPagesContent
Agility CMS documentationAgility CMS documentation

Documentation for the CMS built for editors, developers, and AI agents.

Docs
  • Overview
  • Editors
  • Developers
  • Owners & Admins
  • Training Guide
  • Changelog
Resources
  • Get Support
  • MCP Server
  • System Status
  • llms.txt
Agility
  • agilitycms.com
  • Start Free Trial
  • Sign in
  • Blog
© 2026 Agility Inc. All rights reserved.
Privacy PolicyTerms of Service